By Michael T. Bello
Published Mar 13, 2013 at 7:00 AM ET; Updated Mar 13, 2013 at 7:29 AM ET

Harrow Sports - Official Equipment Supplier of the CSA

New Haven, CT — The 2013 Women’s College Squash Association National Team Championships had great team and individual performances. In this special edition of the Harrow Sports College Squash Player of the Week, we recognize a player from each division of the tournament.

Howe Cup (A Division) – Haley Mendez (Harvard University):  Mendez, a sophomore, helped the Crimson win their 14th National Team Championship (Howe Cup). In Harvard’s three matches in the tournament, Mendez played in the #3 position and defeated Stanford’s Madeleine Gill (11-6, 6-11, 11-7, and 11-4), Penn’s Rachael Goh (11-9, 11-9, 6-11, 9-11, and 11-8), and Trinity’s Wee Nee Low (11-4, 11-8, 6-11, and 11-8).

Kurtz Cup (B Division) – Cheri-Ann Parris (Bates College): Although Bates lost to Dartmouth in the Kurtz Cup final, the Bobcats fought their way to the finals. In the opening round, they defeated higher-seeded Williams, 5-4, with the help of Parris’ victory over the Ephs’ #2, Laura Henry. Against Middlebury, Parris defeated  the Panthers’ Abigail Jenkins to help the Bobcats advance to the finals. She was the sole Bates player to capture a match against the Big Green.

Walker Cup (C Division) – Bonnie Cao (Bowdoin College): Senior captain Bonnie Cao had the best three days of her collegiate career at the National Team Championships. After defeating Colby, 8-1, the Polar Bears faced Hamilton. With the match tied 4-4, Cao faced Hamilton’s Hillary Kolodner. After being down 1-2, Cao tied the match 2-2. The fifth game went to tie-breakers, which Cao won (8-11, 11-5, 8-11, 11-7, and 12-10). She was mobbed by her teammates upon leaving the court. In the finals against Wesleyan, Bowdoin won 5-4. This time, Cao prevailed in the deciding 3-1 match, this time defeating Wesleyan’s Claire Miller (11-4, 12-14, 11-8, and 11-6).

Epps Cup (D Division) – Anne Habecker (William Smith College): Everytime William Smith has a tight team match, it seems that Anne Habecker is involved in a five-gamer. Last year, Habecker won a dramatic five-game match against St. Lawrence to get the Herons to the Epps Cup final. She did the same this year by defeating St. Lawrence’s Sarah Neilson (11-6, 11-7, 3-11, 3-11, and 11-7). In the tournament, she went 3-0 and helped William Smith win the Epps Cup.

E Division – Hannah Miller (Haverford College): Miller, a senior, played #8 for the Fords at the National Team Championships. Each one of her matches was very tight. Against Smith, she defeated Dipshikha Mahajan in five games (11-4, 10-12, 6-11, 12-10, and 11-8). In a four-game match, Miller defeated NYU’s Lina Want (2-11, 11-5, 11-7, and 11-7). In the finals against Tufts, she helped Haverford win the E Division with a five-game victory over Chelsea Dickson (11-1, 5-11, 11-9, 3-11, and 13-11).

Emerging Teams Division – Lindsey Kelt (Vanderbilt University): Going into the tournament, Vanderbilt had not played a match since the 2012 Women’s National Team Championships. To Lindsey Kelt, a first year student, this did not matter. She went 3-0 at the tournament to help Vanderbilt win the Emerging Teams Division. In the match with Washington St. Louis, Kelt fell behind 0-1 to Paige Landau, but rebounded to win the match in four games (10-12, 11-6, 11-5, and 11-7).